Readify

Great Benefit’s repeated denial of the Black family’s claim

The Rainmaker

Great Benefit’s repeated denial of the Black family’s claim turns a desperate request for covered medical treatment into a revealing test of how an insurance company can make delay and divided responsibility serve as instruments of refusal. Donny Ray Black needed a bone marrow transplant, but Great Benefit Life Insurance Company repeatedly denied coverage, offering different reasons as the family continued to press its claim. The dispute ultimately exposes a wider system: denial was not simply an isolated mistake but part of a claims practice that counted on policyholders giving up before they could obtain legal help.

The Claim and Its Changing Justifications

Dot Black brought Rudy Baylor a worn policy and a bundle of correspondence. The family had bought the medical policy from Great Benefit Life Insurance Company five years earlier, when Donny Ray Black and his identical twin, Ronny Ray Black, were seventeen. Dot said that the family had never missed a premium and had not sought benefits until Donny Ray became ill. The policy listed both twins as dependents.

Donny Ray had acute leukemia. According to Dot, doctors had diagnosed him the previous August, and Ronny Ray was a suitable bone marrow donor. The transplant was estimated to cost about $150,000, far beyond what the family could pay. Dot said Great Benefit had refused to cover further treatment, leaving Donny Ray without the transplant his doctors recommended. She also reported that, after the initial chemotherapy, the hospital had stopped treating him because the family could not pay for the care.

The company’s explanations shifted. Dot said Great Benefit had argued that Donny Ray was no longer covered because he was an adult, although she could find no such termination provision in the policy. A later denial letter cited a preexisting condition. But the diagnosis came roughly four years after the policy was issued, and Dot said that the policy contained no exclusion for bone marrow transplants. Her account gave Rudy a plain question to investigate: how could the company refuse a treatment the policy appeared to cover, after years of premiums and repeated requests for payment?

One letter made the pattern especially stark. It stated that Great Benefit had already denied the claim seven times and was refusing it for an eighth and final time; it also insulted Dot. The correspondence was not merely a series of impersonal decisions to the family. Each new reason extended the dispute while Donny Ray’s condition worsened. Dot told Rudy that he had fallen from 160 pounds to 110 and could barely walk on some days.

From Individual Refusals to Company Procedure

Rudy’s understanding changed as he examined how Great Benefit handled claims. Cooper Jackson described a process in which a claims handler first denied a claim, then requested the insured’s medical records from the preceding five years. The company could issue another letter denying the claim pending review, send the file to underwriting, and receive instructions not to pay until further notice. Claims and underwriting operated as separate departments, sending paperwork between them even though both worked for the same company. The insured, meanwhile, received the denials and waited.

Jackson explained the practical effect: the exchange between departments could prolong the dispute, while many policyholders eventually gave up. He estimated that only about one in twenty-five consulted a lawyer. His account helped Rudy recognize the procedural pattern behind the correspondence he had received in the Black case: repeated review and deferral did not necessarily bring the family closer to a decision in its favor.

Jackson showed Rudy the claims and underwriting manuals. The copies Rudy had obtained in discovery lacked a section present in Jackson’s manuals: Section U. Read together, the omitted sections instructed the two departments to deny claims pending further review and to send the files back and forth with directions not to pay. Neither department could authorize payment until the other acted, but the promised further notice did not arrive. The manuals also directed employees to document each step, creating a paper trail of apparent review. Their absence from the discovery copies made the discrepancy consequential: the materials provided to Rudy had concealed the very instructions that clarified how the two departments’ roles worked together.

Testimony and the Wider Denial Scheme

At trial, Rudy questioned Everett Lufkin, Great Benefit’s vice president of claims, about the department and its handling of the Black file. Lufkin acknowledged his responsibility for running the division, though not for personally overseeing every claim. Rudy also established that Jackie Lemancyzk, the handler assigned to the Black claim, had left Great Benefit shortly before she was due to give a deposition. Lufkin said she had resigned and described the claim file he reviewed as complete. Her later testimony placed the case within a broader company policy rather than an ordinary, isolated dispute.

Lemancyzk testified that Great Benefit initially denied every claim during 1991. Under the policy, claims exceeding $1,000 were denied for a twelve-month period regardless of their merits; some smaller claims were also ultimately denied if the company could identify an arguable basis. A few larger claims were paid only after the insured hired a lawyer and pressed the matter. She said the experiment lasted one year and produced about $40 million in additional gains. She also testified that the Black claim had first been denied like the others and then received special attention after the company noticed the diagnosis of acute leukemia.

The sequence of Great Benefit’s responses thus acquired a larger meaning. What Dot experienced as a succession of excuses—the adulthood argument, the preexisting-condition argument, and the repeated written refusals—fit a system that began with denial and relied on customers’ limited resources and endurance. The Black family’s persistence, followed by Rudy’s investigation and the discovery of Section U, brought into view both the individual claim and the company practices that had made its handling possible.

Related StoryFlow